Movement

Our bodies were designed for movement.

It’s in our anatomy.

It’s in our genetics.

Movement is something that allows us to celebrate our bodies.

However, a HUGE misconception that people have is that there are “right” and “wrong” ways to move our bodies. A lot of the time people think that the only way you’re allowed to exercise is by lifting weights or running.

I’m here to dispel that myth because (news flash) you should not move your body in a way where you feel forced to move it. If you’re forcing yourself to do something, chances are you aren’t going to reap the benefits of moving your body…..and honestly what’s the point of that?

5089951c-a7c4-4834-b85e-40fdac11139d

You wanna know why I lift heavy things? Because I LOVE IT. Yes, I used to lift in attempts to obtain a certain physique. But, instead of building myself up I was tearing myself apart. I was focusing to much on how I looked and not how I felt. However, when I realized that I had a problem…I didn’t want to give up lifting all together. Maybe it was ED talking…but there was a voice rooted deep in me that said not to give it up.

Since then I’ve figured out why I didn’t give it up. Instead of focusing on my looks/the number on the scale, I focused on how I felt. And you know how lifting makes me feel?

Powerful.

Strong.

Like a bad ass.

Independent.

Confident.

Beautiful.

For a long time in my life, I never felt that way. EVER. And I think that’s why I wasn’t comfortable with myself in the first place. I never felt powerful, strong, bad ass like, independent, or beautiful. Those feelings that I get from lifting, I carry with me in to my daily life.

Screen Shot 2017-08-06 at 6.22.02 PM

That’s what movement should do for you. You shouldn’t be doing it because you feel forced to. Find something and do it because it makes you feel alive. It can be lifting, running, walking, dancing, biking, yoga, playing basketball…ANYTHING! If it involves moving your body and it makes you feel good, stick with it!

Our bodies were not meant to just sit around. Our bodies want to move. They want to be celebrated. What better way to celebrate our bodies than by allowing them to show us what they are capable of! Our bodies are AMAZING machines. When you move, you feel better about everything, including yourself. Physically AND mentally.

Whether it be fast, slow, rhythmic, light, heavy, bendy….find a form of movement that gives you that euphoric feeling. We all deserve to feel powerful, strong, bad ass like, independent, and beautiful.

Screen Shot 2017-08-06 at 6.18.45 PM

❤ Marls

 

Leave a Reply

