Songs that inspire me…to inspire you

It’s no secret that I’m someone who is very driven and motivated by various quotes and sayings. I have them plastered all over my bedroom (even some in my bath room lol), written in my planner, and saved on my phone. With that being said, I’m also someone who listens closely to the lyrics of songs and interprets them in my own way.

Here are a few of my favorites. I hope some of them inspire you as they have for me.

New Romantics– Taylor Swift

 

“Baby we’re the new romantics/ The best people in life are free”

Probably one of the few T-Swift songs that I enjoy (I have nothing against her, she just usually isn’t my style), but this song in particular caught my attention because of her message. The people that are going to stick by you in your life are the ones that love every part of you. You love each other despite any flaws because when you’re together the outside world doesn’t matter.

18010431_1699852853358540_3059955053256245061_n

Really Don’t Care– Demi Lovato

“But even if the stars and mood collide/ I never want you back into my life/ You can take your words and all your lies/ Oh oh oh I really don’t care”

First off, I love that Demi is not afraid of being super authentic in this song….or in life for that matter. The message is plain and simple. Why keep something in your life that is bringing you down? Get rid of it and never look back. Then own who you are and never apologize for it.

DSCN2822

Catch My Breath– Kelly Clarkson

“I’ll spend the rest of my life/ Laughing hard with the windows down/ Leaving footprints all over town/ Keeping faith, Karma comes around/ I will spend the rest of my life”

I’ve talked a few times on this blog how when you go through an ED, you lose your life in the sense that you don’t allow yourself to go out and actually LIVE. This song is exactly about that. Kelly talks about how she used to hold back and be afraid of things. Now she’s let it go and is getting back the life she lost. That’s why I connected to this song. I lost my life and now I’m getting it back.

14068326_1338660539477775_5425039718283476564_n

That’s My Girl– Fifth Harmony

“Destiny said it, you got to get up and get it/ Got some dirt on your shoulder, then let me brush it off for ya/ If you’re feeling me, put your five high/ That’s my girl”

This song was basically my anthem fall semester of my senior year. It was my hardest semester that I had ever had (thanks to all the Kines classes I took). There were a few classes that I was seriously worried about passing. After breaking down on the phone to my mom one night, she reminded me, “Marlee, you have overcome things FAR greater than this”. For the rest of the semester, I blasted this song whenever I could. It was a reminder to me that I can overcome ANYTHING that’s thrown at me.

large

Fix You– Coldplay

“Lights will guide you home/ And ignite your bones/ And I will try to fix you”

I couldn’t do this list without a bit of Coldplay because they’re just awesome (and my FAVORITE band <3). What really spoke to me in this song was getting through struggles with a support system. We are the ones who have to correct our problems, but the ones we love can help us along the way.

18403367_1702358666441292_6938548637552405531_n

Scars To Your Beautiful– Alessia Cara

“There’s a hope that’s waiting for you in the dark/ You should know you’re beautiful just the way you are/ And you don’t have to change a thing, the world can change it’s heart/ No scars to your beautiful, we’re stars and we’re beautiful”

LOVE THIS GIRL SO MUCH OMG! This song is a personal anthem of mine. For me this song means, there is no one in this world that can define what beauty is. YOU define your own beauty. We’re all different. There’s no point in trying to conform to someone else’s standards of beauty. We’re all unique in our own way and THAT’S beautiful.

15259744_1141663125887906_5805422171047803063_o

Wild Things– Alessia Cara

“Find your grace, don’t you hide your face/ And let it shine, shine, shine, shine, shine”

Once again this girl hits it out of the ballpark with this song. It’s all about embracing yourself and being unapologetic for who you are. You don’t have to hide the real you in order to please others. Let others see you for who you are. The world would be a much better place if people didn’t hide the real person inside of them.

16265919_1551810354829458_4225192549123208953_n

 

Heavy Crown– Iggy Azalea

“To everyone who said I’d never make it/ Oh Lord, weren’t you mistaken/ I got a dinner date with greatness”

STORY TIME! I remember my first attempt at recovery from ED. Back in high school (when I didn’t realize that I had a problem), I was seeing a nutritionist in my home town. The woman CLEARLY did not specialize in ED cases. Each session with her felt like an interrogation session and it always felt like she doubted every word I said to her. One time I remember her saying to me “With where you’re at right now, you are NEVER going to get better” (umm….yeah….something you don’t say to someone with an ED…..and just anyone in general for that matter). This song is all about overcoming struggles and coming out on top. For me, whether it was that woman or just all the struggles I’ve had in general, I’ve proven them wrong about me. When someone says to me I can’t do something, my response is always “WATCH ME”.

Screen Shot 2017-06-18 at 5.42.24 PM

Restart– Sam Smith

“And the truth is I’m better on my own/ And I’m the one to leave it apart/ So let me restart”

I LOVE THIS MAN ❤ So, restart=new beginnings. Whether it be from a break up (as Sam talks about) or coming out of a personal struggle. You start anew. Clean slate. Yes, your past is still there. But that’s just it…in the past. So it’s best not to dwell on the past. Move forward and embrace a new life.

DSCN2809

Love Myself– Hailee Steinfeld

“I’m gonna put my body first/ And love me so hard til it hurts”

Self love. That’s the take away message from this song. Self love in all parts of yourself. Body, mind, personality, your very BEING. Acceptance from others or society does not define what you think of yourself.

17309565_1609355472408279_7684992003325398097_n

Amazing Day– Coldplay

“Oh thanks God, must have heard when I prayed/ cause now I always wanted to feel this way”

Why not strive to make everyday amazing? This song is all about embracing the little moments in life. A laugh with a friend, a hug from someone special, kindness from a total stranger….these little things are what make life amazing. We take so much time in our lives to embrace big events. Continue embracing the big events, but also take time to cherish little moments as well.

10369884_923012724375894_1712113141087409829_n

I hope these songs have inspired you as they have for me 🙂

❤ Marls

Leave a Reply

