To my high school seniors

on

A few weeks ago, I spent Easter with my family in Dallas. During brunch, my aunt and uncle asked what college advice I could give to my cousin who will soon be starting college.

“Only one? I need some time to think about that….”

Now I have lots of cousins. I mean A LOT. If you’ve ever seen the movie, “My Big Fat Greek Wedding”, my extended family can be like the Irish Catholic version of that family. Big. Loud. Kinda crazy. But one thing for sure is our unconditional love for each other. We may be crazy, but we’re crazy for each other. My family has 5 graduations this year. FIVE. When did all these kids start growing up? Two college (me being one), 2 high school, and one law school graduation. I remember when we were all little kids, playing in my grandparents’ backyard, doing Lord knows what.

Trying to think of one piece of advice for my cousins who are about to embark into what I consider to be Level 1 of adulthood was hard. Naturally I just thought of it a few days ago, so it felt appropriate to do a blog post about it.

Screen Shot 2017-04-30 at 3.13.15 PM
Photo creds to my BFF Paula ❤

Don’t be afraid to get out of your comfort zone.

Simple as that.

Well….maybe easier said than done.

Getting out of my comfort zone was THE BEST decision I’ve ever made.

It started with me going to school out of state. A school where I knew absolutely NO ONE. Was I scared out of my mind? HELL YEAH. Who wouldn’t be?

Then I made the decision to take control of my life. Definitely scared to do that too. BUT it was much needed.

I talked to people. People I didn’t know. People I probably would have never even tried to talk to in high school. Some good…some not so good….

I got involved on campus. #RushRec

I choose to speak up about issues that I’m passionate about. I was tired of being silent. My voice and everyone else’s voice deserves to be heard.

12243452_1113965145280650_3605840511418843081_n

What has all these things gotten me?

New experiences in new places.

A healthy body and mind.

The BEST friends I’ve ever had and co-workers that have become family.

My own voice.

DSCN2854

So baby cousins (yes you will always be considered babies to me…stop growing up), I know how this time for you is a whirlwind of emotions. Excitement, happiness, anxiousness, sadness…trust me I get it. I was rising college freshman once. But believe me when I tell you, don’t be afraid to get out of your comfort zone. One of my professors on our first day of class told us “get comfortable with being uncomfortable”. Life begins when you get outside of that safety bubble.

This is college. Barely anyone knows each other. There are no cliques. You’ll meet people from all over the world. So force yourself to do new things you would have never done before. You might discover something new that makes you happy. Introduce yourself to someone you would have never talked to before. Literally college is all about meeting people, good and bad. Get an on campus job (once again #RushRec). Your coworkers just might become your second family.

College is about so much more than getting a degree and moving on with life. If you go to college just for that purpose only, you’re wasting your time. College changes your life. So much that it’s kinda mind blowing and you don’t actually realize it until you hit that senior status. But through the ups and downs of it all, it is SO worth it.

So get out of your comfort zone my young grasshoppers. Don’t be afraid. Go forth and conquer.

Screen Shot 2017-04-30 at 3.13.15 PM
Proverbs 31: 25

 

Love you big cuz,

Marlee

Leave a Reply

