Copy Cat Ol’ South Pancake House Healthy Silver Dollar Cornmeal Pancakes

Before I get in to my copy cat creation, for those of you who have never been to Fort Worth let me give you a little back ground:

photo-4

Ol’ South Pancake House is definitely a must when it comes to places to eat in Cow Town. The place is legendary for it’s good ol’ classic southern style breakfasts. Pancakes, waffles, eggs, French toast, omelettes, bacon….you name it they have it! It’s been around practically forever too! My parents and brother, who are all TCU alumni, have memories of going to Ol South as students! When they come to visit me at school, there is no question as to where to go to breakfast 😀

Ever since I had their cornmeal pancakes for the first time, I’ve been DYING to try and create a copy cat recipe. If you look back in a few of my previous posts, I’ve attempted recreating them but something still wasn’t right. Well now I’m happy to report that I DID IT! 😀

For two Fridays in a row now, I’ve been having these babies for a very satisfying post workout breakfast 🙂 They taste just like corn bread but slightly sweeter. Plus, they’re so gosh darn cute! 🙂

Single Serve Healthy Copy Cat Ol’ South Pancake House Cornmeal Silver Dollar Pancakes

Serves 1

Ingredients:

4 TBSP Cornmeal

2 egg whites

cinnamon

nutmeg

1 packet splenda

dash of baking powder

add ins such as pumpkin puree, mashed banana, greens (*if not using any add ins, use more cornmeal)

1. Blend together all the ingredients in a blender if using add ins or by hand if not using add ins

2. Grease and heat a skillet over medium high heat. Use an 1/8 cup to pour mini pancakes on to the skillet.

3. When the pancakes look like they are firming up or the edges are firm, carefully flip each pancake and allow to cook for another 2 mins or until cooked through.

4. Top with fruit (my personal favorite ;)), syrup, greek yogurt, PB……really what ever you want! Or they’re also good plain!

photo-5photo-6

On the left are pumpkin flavored pancakes topped with sautéed spiced apples. On the right are green pancakes topped with banana (for those of you who are skeptical, I PROMISE you do not taste the greens!).

While they will never be as good as the cornmeal pancakes from Ol’ South, they’re a delicious second 😉

Enjoy and have a great weekend!

Marls 😀

Leave a Reply

