BBQ Roasted Veggie Pizza

Hey there everyone! πŸ™‚

So despite all the rain that we’ve been having Houston, I wasn’t going to let that stop me from making a trip to Trader Joe’s πŸ™‚ I was out of a lot of things that I buy at Trader Joe’s & when I’m home, our Trader Joe’s is about a 30 minute drive for me, so that’s why I specifically planned a trip to TJ’s.

photo 1

I love Trader Joe’s ❀ I had never been to a Trader Joe’s until I started going to TCU. In Fort Worth, there is literally a TJ’s 10 minutes from campus. They never cease to amaze me with the variety of products that they have AND for their AWESOME prices! For college students on a budget, Trader Joe’s is definitely a place to look into. I don’t do all my grocery shopping there but there are a few things that I get from there because either: a.) they aren’t sold at Kroger OR b.) the price is better than Kroger.

So as part of my haul yesterday, I found some pre-made whole wheat pizza dough which immediately had me craving pizza for dinner. Two of my favorite places to go out to eat in Fort Worth are Pie Five and Pizza Snob. At these places you build your own personal pizza- crust, sauce, toppings, etc…..it’s your choice! I’ve tried to recreate it a few times at home πŸ™‚

photo 2

So this particular pizza that I made last night was THE BOMB πŸ˜€ The dough was so chewy, soft, and slightly doughy (it probably could have used a few more minutes in the oven but I like doughy πŸ™‚ ). I wanted to use BBQ sauce as my base but we didn’t have enough so I ended up mixing what was in the bottle with tomato paste. I added some of my favorite veggies and sprinkled Italian seasoning and onion powder on top. I skipped the cheese because I have such a sensitive stomach I have to limit how much dairy I eat at once. Plus, I think that without the cheese you taste more of the flavors of the veggies and sauce πŸ™‚

BBQ ROASTED VEGGIE PIZZA

-pre-made whole wheat pizza dough or whole wheat pizza crust

– 2-3 tbsp BBQ sauce

-about 3/4 of a small can of tomato paste*

-your favorite veggies, chopped

-your favorite cheese (optional)

-Italian seasoning and onion powder to taste (garlic powder tastes great too!)

1. Preheat the oven according to the directions on the package for the whole wheat dough or crust. If using pre-made dough, prepare the dough according to package directions.

2. Mix together the BBQ sauce and tomato paste and spread on top of your dough or crust.

3. Chop up your favorite veggies and add them to the pizza. Dust the pizza with seasonings.

4. Bake pizza in the oven according to package directions. Let cool for a few minutes after it’s done baking.

*this is about how much of the can I used but use as much need to cover the top of the pizza or if you just like little or extra sauce

You can share……or not πŸ˜‰

Enjoy!

Marls πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

