Weekend Highlights

Happy Monday everyone!

I hope everyone’s weekend was good ๐Ÿ™‚ Mine was pretty low key but I like low key weekends ๐Ÿ™‚ Here are a few highlights:

FRIDAY:

photo 1

I ran out of the body cream and hand cream that I use, so I went to Bath & Body Works to go get more. I LOVE their Aromatherapy Stress Relief Eucalyptus Tea Body Cream to put on after showers. As a person who easily gets stressed out, ย I actually do feel more relaxed when I put it on- something about the warm shower and then the scent of tea instantly soothes me ๐Ÿ™‚

photo 2

Dinner that night wasn’t anything special so I didn’t take a picture of it….but I did take a picture of my Friday night treat ๐Ÿ˜€ I like to treat myself on Friday nights as a reward for making it through the week. On this particular night I made myself Immaeatthat’s version of puppy chow. Her version uses PB2 powder instead of powdered sugar and dark chocolate instead of milk chocolate. Now I’m all for the originalย version of puppy chow (it’s acutally kind of a problem….that stuff is dangerously addictive….) but this version is more peanutty and it uses dark chocolate, which I LOVE. We didn’t have any Rice Chex, so I used Corn Flakes (my favorite cereal ๐Ÿ˜‰ ) intead!ย This plus “The Fault in Our Stars” on TV= a perfect night in for me ๐Ÿ™‚

SATURDAY:

photo 3

We had a busy day ahead of us getting ready to throw a going away party for one of my dad’s employees. Before I went to go workout, my breakfast was ย protein shake that I made using plain greek yogurt, Advocare Muscle Gain Vanilla protein powder, and Advocare Strawberry Mango Spark. On days that I eat breakfast before my workout, I keep things on the lighter side and low in fiber so I don’t upset my stomach while I’m exercising. I made this shake so much, its like a staple for me! The greek yogurt makes things creamy, the protein powder adds extra flavor, and Spark not only tastes good, but also gives me the energy & focus I need to power through my workout!

Unfortunately, I forgot to take pictures of the party that ensued later that night ๐Ÿ˜ฆ But I can assure you, there was A LOT of food! My dad grilled burgers and I contributed Balsamic Roasted Potatoes and some sliced strawberries. Our guest brought a whole hodge podge of food-from quesadillas to pasta salad to chili to casseroles…like I said we had A LOT of food! It was a fun night though-good friends, good food, & good times ๐Ÿ™‚

SUNDAY:

photo 5

After waking up late on Sunday morning, my family & I went to mass and then came home & made ourselves brunch. For a while now I have been trying to replicate these cornmeal pancakes that I had at the best breakfast place in Fort Worth- Ole South Pancake House ๐Ÿ˜€ I was pretty close in this attempt! Not as fluffy as the ones at Ole South, but pretty darn close!

photo 4

The rest of the day was pretty lazy-Sundays I typically take as a rest day so I didn’t workout. Instead I took the opportunity to do some crafts that I had been wanting to do for a while. I’ve been dying to get a new phone case but no one makes cases for iPhone 4 any more ๐Ÿ˜ฆ So when I found online a DIY for a new phone case using just an old phone case, modge podge, and pictures, I immediately went to Hobby Lobby & got some modge podge! Now when I was in middle school, I used modge podge for just about anything! I was a very crafty preteen ๐Ÿ™‚ I hadn’t used it in so long that I forgot just how wonderful it is! In a pile of old stuff I found a really old photo reel from my family’s L.A. days. With that & some modge podge, I finally got my new phone case ๐Ÿ˜‰

Relaxed weekends are my ideal kind of weekends ๐Ÿ™‚ Now time to start a new week! Have a great week everyone ๐Ÿ˜€

Marlee ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

