Working out to music

My day yesterday started off with a morning weight workout in my dad and I’s garage/ home weight room. I pretty much only workout in morning. Working out in the morning just works better for my body- I’m not tired from the day’s activities and it’s easier on my sensitive digestive system (I typically drink a small protein shake with my vitamins hours before my workout so I’m not working out on a completely empty stomach). I’ve started incorporating a new weight workout into my weekly workouts that includes barbell deadlifts and bench presses. So far it’s going pretty good! I had my dad check my form a week ago and he was impressed at how well it was considering I had never done those before!

imageimage-2

When I first started avidly working out (9th grade…..14 years old….), I didn’t really workout with any music playing. In fact, I was so unaccustomed to it that when I would go on vacations and my dad and I would go workout in another gym, the music playing in the gym would distract me! However, when I started working out at the Campus Rec Center when I started attending TCU, I guess I just became so accustomed to the music that’s constantly playing in there that now when I workout without some back ground music it feels weird and I get distracted by little things going on around me! Weird how things change huh?

I’ve always been a big fan of anything that has a good beat to it. I like more upbeat, happy songs over slower, somber songs. However, I do have exceptions (i.e. I am a HUGE fan of Sam Smith :D). Plus I think up beat songs make the perfect workout tunes :). I would have to say my favorite artist to workout to is Pitbull. I’ve pretty much listened to more Pitbull music overall ever since I saw him perform at the Houston Rodeo over spring break!

photo 1-2photo 2-2

Yesterday towards the end of my workout Pitbull’s “Time of Our Lives” came on & it was the perfect way to end my workout :). I am also currently obsessed with David Guetta’s “Hey Mama” and Fifth Harmony’s “Worth It”- such great beats!

So after I workout I tried something new for breakfast- I found a recipe for a DIY Momofuku Cereal Smoothie. It was pretty good but I still felt hungry afterwords. It was a good thing that I was meeting my roommate from TCU for lunch and to go see Pitch Perfect 2 later!

image-3

I met my roomie at Salata and I got myself a big ol’ salad with seed bread-SO GOOD :D. Salata is one of my favorite restaurants! After we had lunch we went to the movie theater. We went to a Studio Movie Grill, which was pretty exciting for me because I have NEVER been to a dine in movie before! I grew up in a small town in Alabama where we just had your standard movie theaters. I was absolutely mesmerized by the button that I could push and a waiter would magically appear to take my order. If I wasn’t so full from lunch I would have ordered something!

image-4image-5

Pitch Perfect 2 definitely lived up to my expectations :). It was so funny and I loved seeing all the different celebrities in the movie like Robin Roberts and some of the Green Bay Packers!

Screen Shot 2015-05-21 at 4.23.53 PM

I chilled for a little bit when I came home and then I threw together another big salad for myself for dinner with stuff I had in our fridge. In the mix was alfalfa sprouts, sundries tomatoes, pan roasted curry lentils, cinnamon roasted acorn squash, crushed Trader Joe’s Reduced Guilt Pita Chips, and honey mustard (which I am currently obsessed with!). I then went back and finished off the bag of pita chips since the bag was almost empty anyways :D. I like to have a snack before bed so after I showered I finished off the rest of my protein bar “granola” & Trader Joe’s Blueberry Muesli mix and I dusted it with some PB2 powder. It was perfectly sweet, crunchy, oaty (I know that’s not a word, but in these circumstances it is), and peanutty! (again….I know not a word….)

image-6image-7

I am trying to make the most of the days that I have before I start taking some online classes from UH in June. I don’t have any specific plans for the days ahead but we’ll see what tomorrow holds! Until then my friends 🙂

Marls 🙂

Leave a Reply

